The world was still dark. The only light that revealed him and I came from the flames flickering all around us. He had brought destruction to our land. Everyone wanted him gone. I had to finish him.

I walked up to his slightly charred body. His porcelain mask still remained egg shell white despite all the blows he had taken. He was laying there, unmoving, frozen in a wicked pose. A name embroidered into his unfamiliar uniform read Skyline. I wondered were the man, or thing, had came from. He had brought so much havoc in a short amount of time. Hundreds of lives lost. I felt responsible too. Me, an Overwatch, had allowed this to happen. I admit that he was much stronger and more powerful than I had expected. Maybe even more powerful than me. He had taken out 3 other Overwatches, as if they were nothing. I had to take him out right then and now. Before he awoke, and began his destructive path.

I walked to his body. It was still sprawled out after the last blow i delivered. He didn't seem to be breathing, but there was no way to be sure; I had no idea what this thing was. His body appeared to be humanoid of some type. All his features, down to the fingernails, were human. His suit covered his entire body except to his wrists, ankles, and just below the neck. I took out my blade to examine him. I used the tip to try and slide off his white mask. He quickly retaliated.

The sound he made when he scrambled to his feet was wild. The sound could only be described as a large jungle cat being enraged, but many of those animals had long been annihilated. His mask remained upon his face as the eye holes began to emit a sharp blinding light. The light seemed to illuminate the darkness he had brought with him. the brightness was  too much to bare. I had to shield my eyes but the immense heat burned my flesh. I couldn't handle it much longer; I collapsed and couldn't get up.  

When I opened my eyes and the burning sensation had subsided, it was day. The music that had been playing in my head was stopped, but i dull throb replaced it. I was surrounded by other Overwatches, all looking for survivors. I knew whatever that thing was, it was not friendly.



Leave a Reply.